Let Freedom Read!


Keynote Speaker, Jeff Zentner

Conference Registration is Open!

Join us at Chandler-Gilbert Community College on Saturday, Sept. 22 for:

  • Jeff Zentner’s speech on “The War of Stories”

  • presentations by classroom teachers from all levels

  • YA author panel

Register now at: aetaconnect.wordpress.com



2018 Arizona English Teachers Association Conference

September 22, 2018

Chandler-Gilbert Community College (Pecos Campus)

2626 East Pecos Road, Chandler, AZ 85225


All events will take place in Agave Hall (AGA) and Bradshaw Hall (BRD).

8:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. Registration

8:20 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. Welcome Message

8:30 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. Keynote: Jeff Zentner, The War of Stories 

author of Goodbye Days and The Serpent King

winner of ALAN’s Amelia Walden Award 

9:30 a.m. – 10:20 a.m. A Sessions

9:30 a.m. – 12:20 p.m. B-C Combined Session

10:30 a.m. – 11:20 a.m. B Sessions

11:30 a.m. – 12:20 p.m. C Sessions

12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Lunch and Awards

1:30 p.m. – 2:15 p.m. Writing Workshop: Jeff Zentner

2:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Teacher Workshop: Dr. Beverly Chin

3:15 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. YA Author Panel

Stephanie Meyer, Nathan Price Evans, Kate White, Paul Mosier, Sara Francis- Fujimara, and Abigail Johnson

4:00 p.m.- 5:00 p.m. Book signings

Teachers as Writers Contest

AETA would like to extend an invitation to share your writing. We write to model a writer’s life for our students, we write to express ourselves because we find complexity and beauty both inside and outside of the classroom, and we write because it is one of the most cherished intellectual endeavors. Share your writing with AETA by joining the annual Teachers as Writers Contest.

TAW flyer June 2018
ELIGIBILITY This contest is open to English language arts teachers at all levels, as well as to administrators, specialists and graduate students within the field. Current membership in AETA is a requirement for entry.
ENTRIES Entrants are limited to one entry in each of the three categories. Entries should comply with the maximum length requirements:
Poetry (120 lines) Short story (3000 words) Nonfiction prose (3000 words)
AWARDS DEADLINE AUGUST 1 Winning entries will be honored during the Fall Conference. Additionally, the winners will be published in an upcoming issue of the Arizona English Bulletin.
To enter the AETA Teachers as Writers Contest:

1. Include a cover page with your name, the title of the entry, the genre (poetry, short story, or nonfiction prose), your work/cell/home number, and your email address.

2. Double space all entries (except poetry).

3. Include “TAW Contest” in the subject line of the email. Email submissions to: Sylvia Vega: sgvdanndy@hotmail.com